Skip to content

Saving Fish from Drowning

March 5, 2008

It is evil to take lives and noble to saves them.

Each day, I pledge to save a hundred lives. I drop my net in the lake and scoop out a hundred fishes. I place the fishes on the bank, where they flop and twirl.

“Don’t be scared,” I tell those fishes. “I am saving you from drowning.”

Soon enough, the fishes grow calm and lie still. Yet, sad to say, I am always late. The fishes expire.😦

And because it is evil to waste anything, I take those dead fishes to market and I sell them for a good price.

With the money I receive, I buy more nets… so I can save more fishes.

“Kejahatan dalam dunia ini nyaris selalu datang dari ketidaktahuan, dan maksud baik bisa sama berbahayanya dengan kedengkian jika tidak disertai pengertian.” – ALBERT CAMUS

*** semua teks di atas dikutip dari novel karya Amy Tan berjudul “Saving Fish from Drowning”

From → matabaca

Comments are closed.

